Gandhijee Said …

Today is the Martyr’s Day – the day when our bapu, the father of my nation – Mahatma Gandhi died. I remember in 2010 when I was in Delhi, on this day we (Me, Nobo and Prasho) went to his samadhi in Rajghat. There were many other visitors, his grave was decorated beautifully with flowers and there was sitar being played in one side of the perfectly maintained Rajghat.

RajGhat!



Gandhiji’s words and thoughts are quoted whenever people want to talk about truth, non-violence and peace. Personally, as a child when I visited his Sabarmati Ashram in Ahmedabad, Gujarat, I came back moved by one line that he said – ”My Life is My Message”. How self-confident and truthful to yourself you need to be to make such a powerful statement. There are quotes that I am yet not capable enough to understand, like β€œBirth and death are not two different states, but they are different aspects of the same state.” And there are few of his sayings that I really love a lot. You can find below a list of such ten+one quotes πŸ™‚ :

1. This no doubt should be the first of my list – ”Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.” – The simplest and most effective truth of life.

2. ”The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is the attribute of the strong.” – I love this one!! πŸ™‚

3. ”A ‘No’ uttered from the deepest conviction is better than a ‘Yes’ merely uttered to please, or worse, to avoid trouble.” – This, I guess is something I need to remember :-/ really need to.

4. There have been movies based on it, there have been songs written. This is the one thing that can make your life worth-living, you need not listen to anyone else, need not follow anything else – ”Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”

5. ”Do not crave to know the views of others, nor base your intent thereon. To think independently for yourself is a sign of fearlessness.” – Another thing that I need to master at, for it has happened many a times that this whole idea of ‘what will others think’ has stopped me from doing something that I would have loved to do otherwise.

6. ”Nobody can hurt me without my permission.” – and to think of it, such a powerful truth!! There are two more quotes based on the same line -”They cannot take away our self respect if we do not give it to them” and ”There would be nothing to frighten you if you refused to be afraid.” – simple and beautiful.

7. ”Man often becomes what he believes himself to be. If I keep on saying to myself that I cannot do a certain thing, it is possible that I may end by really becoming incapable of doing it. On the contrary, if I have the belief that I can do it, I shall surely acquire the capacity to do it even if I may not have it at the beginning.”

8. Again, I realise that this is the ultimate truth for peace. But I just do not know how to really follow this – ”Each one has to find his peace from within. And peace to be real must be unaffected by outside circumstances.”

9. ”The day the power of love overrules the love of power, the world will know peace.” – the ultimate truths of world harmony and peace stated so simply and elegantly!!

10. ”Anger and intolerance are the enemies of correct understanding.” – Oh yeah, ask me!! I know this one!!

11. And well πŸ™‚ this one is included here because I really liked it ” To call woman the weaker sex is a libel; it is man’s injustice to woman. If by strength is meant brute strength, then, indeed, is woman less brute than man. If by strength is meant moral power, then woman is immeasurably man’s superior. Has she not greater intuition, is she not more self-sacrificing, has she not greater powers of endurance, has she not greater courage? Without her, man could not be. If nonviolence is the law of our being, the future is with woman. Who can make a more effective appeal to the heart than woman?”

Rajghat again!

About Panchi

Residing in the Solar System (Milky Way), lost in the beauty of Nature and the vastness of Universe, I am just another Earthling trying to make sense of life!
This entry was posted in LifeLog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gandhijee Said …

  1. Subrata Roy says:

    You’ve presented some of the great ten+one thoughts of that great man. If we can cast his thoughts into our life then I wonder how short the world will be from turning into a utopia. πŸ™‚

  2. pxnewton says:

    Thanks Panchi. These quotes came at a good time for me – good reminder of some things I know and some new things to reflect on. I believe # 4 originally came from Buddha;

    “Don’t blindly believe what I say. Don’t believe me because others convince you of my words. Don’t believe anything you see, read, or hear from others, whether of authority, religious teachers or texts. Don’t rely on logic alone, nor speculation. Don’t infer or be deceived by appearances.”

    “Do not give up your authority and follow blindly the will of others. This way will lead to only delusion.”

    “FIND OUT FOR YOURSELF WHAT IS TRUTH, WHAT IS REAL. Discover that there are virtuous things and there are non-virtuous things. Once you have discovered for yourself give up the bad and embrace the good.”

    – The Buddha

    The upper case part is my mission “should I choose to accept it” – to quote Mission Impossible!

    • Panchi says:

      When it comes to Life and Living, Buddha has opened up a new way of thinking, and I guess not just the 4th one but even many others of Gandhijee’s thoughts were either inspired by Buddha or at least in the lines of His teachings. Gandhijee has written on his Autobiography about his experience with ‘The Light of Asia’ (a book on Buddha’s Life and Philosophy) that – ”I read it with even greater interest than I did the Bhagavad Gita. Once I had begun it I could not leave off.”

      It was Buddha who said ‘Hatred does not cease by hatred, but only by love; this is the eternal rule’ and Gandhi has believed it from the core of his heart and his life itself is an example of this!!

  3. Kimbery Tingle says:

    Merely a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw great style.

  4. BEAUTIFUL PHOTO AND BEAUTIFUL WORDS!

  5. Thanks for the write up! Also, just a heads up, your RSS feeds aren’t working. Could you take a look at that?

Leave a Reply

