The three places of Stephen’s that I love and miss the most!

Stephen’s was a ‘love at first sight’ for me 🙂 – and such a love it was that the more time I spent there, stronger a bond grew between us. Each and every part of the college campus became special to me for some or the other reason – the SCR lawns, science block, dhaba tree, assembly hall, the IRC, Andrew’s court, Junior Common Room, the cafe – I have fond memories associated with each corner of Stephen’s. But still somehow, if I need to think of the three places I love and miss the most from College Campus, it is not that tough. The list, not in any order of preference, is here :

1. The Andrew’s Court

Andrew's Court, St. Stephen's College

The winter sunrise with all it’s glory is most enjoyed in a cold January morning from this place – not many resis in college and whoever is there yet to wake up and come out, a flock of birds chirping in harmony, the dead leaves from the big trees (yet to be swept away by maali bhaiyya) decorating the brick paths surrounding the green grass of Andrew’s Court and the elegant college building standing proud and tall bathed in the morning sunrays – I love this! This is where the SPIC MACAY group of college will sit and meet and talk and discuss (or argue) and make plans and friends and memories… This is the place where I remember seeing Adnan clad in his white kurta on the day of his elections doing his namaaz  (such a serene scene) before the results came and this is the place where we celebrated the moment he was declared the president of the Student’s Union. This is the ground where I have lied down in the nights of spring after dinner, looking at the stars far above, feeling the wind and enjoying the very few moments of life where I could really shut down all my worries and just be. (This list could go on and on …)

Last time I visited the college, I was heartbroken to see that now it is not alowed to step on the Andrew’s court. I mean, seriously?? 😦 That is like having the most beautiful dress of the world and keeping it locked in the closet and not wearing it because you are worried that the dirt might hurt it!

2. M-block of Rudra North!

Rudra North was just converted from a guy’s to girl’s block – and I was given a room in it’s extension (M-block) for my final year of college.

Rudra North, St.. Stephen's College Residence

In no time, it became like a home to me. I had a beautiful single room (M12) with two big windows – I could look at the moon from my bed when I leave my windows open at night, even after the block deadline of 10pm we would transport food (paranthas) from outside to the block through the blessed windows using the rope+basket combo I had and to add to it – I had the most amazing wallmates one could hope for. The room just in front of mine and the one next to mine – both were occupied by two of my best friends – Anwesha (M11) and Thressy (M8). The long long night group chats and the most timepass discussions I could ever think of, hosting Simi and Paa and Kritika during spic macay concerts, hogging on to jalebis-samosas-biscuits-dryfruits, the dance parties everytime there is something to celebrate and the time spent talking about our crushes and Hugh Grant and bla bla bla.. (again, an unending list)

3. The Chapel!

St. Stephen's College Chapel

I am not a very religious person, but the Chapel nevertheless is one of my most fav places in the college. And that is not just because I loved the evening times of Christmas with the College Choir group performing wonderfully while we sit and have cookies and enjoy; but also because this is the only place where I can be completely alone and still be in peace.

The heritage streets of Rome, the romantic air of Paris, the beautiful snowfall in Austria – well, nothing can ever give me as wonderful a feel as my dear St. Stephen’s College gives!!

About Panchi

Residing in the Solar System (Milky Way), lost in the beauty of Nature and the vastness of Universe, I am just another Earthling trying to make sense of life!
This entry was posted in LifeLog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The three places of Stephen’s that I love and miss the most!

  1. Shemika Imbier says:

    I love the efforts you have put in this, regards for all the great posts.

  2. Colby Gulotta says:

    I believe this is among the so much significant info for me. And i am glad reading your article. The web site style is ideal, the articles is truly great :D. Good process, cheers.

  3. the story and pictures evoked so many fond memories..i have a couple of blogs of memories of a more irreverent kind from our days in college in the 80s.check them out

Leave a Reply

